Primary tabs

Hot Deal

Minsky Duo Goes To Russia

Monica Chew

Monica Chew Minsky Duo Goes To Russia

Minsky Duo presents an all-Russian/Soviet program ranging from Tchaikovsky to Schnittke. This program includes the first Berkeley performance of living composer Nikolai Kapustin’s rollicking sonata for violin and piano, the Prokofiev f minor sonata (described by the compser as "wind whistling through a graveyard"), Tchaikovsky's beautifully lyric Meditation, Scriabin's explosive fourth Piano Sonata, and the recently-discovered Schnittke Fuga for solo violin.

Violinist Nato and pianist Monica Chew formed Minsky Duo in spring of 2016. Minsky Duo is named after Marvin Minsky, a pioneer in artificial intelligence and improviser of keyboard fugues. Minsky Duo's mission is to present extraordinary music from both popular and obscure composers. While audiences will hear the chamber music they know and love, Minsky Duo also presents listeners with provoking works they will soon not forget.

Additional Dates:
Sun February 26, 2017 4:00pm
Piedmont Piano Company
Thu April 13, 2017 7:30pm
Red Poppy Art House

Buy Tickets


Alfred Schnittke

Fuga for solo violin

Sergei Prokofiev

Sonata in F minor, op. 80

Alexander Scriabin

Piano Sonata no. 4, op. 30

P. I. Tchaikovsky

Meditation, op. 42, no. 1

Nikolai Kapustin

Sonata for Violin and Piano, op. 70